Break Synonyms

by Kelpe

Interruption 02:00
Recess 05:27
Suspension 03:30
Freeze 04:03


Drut Recordings present six new tracks of breezy autumnal freshness from label founder and electronica stalwart Kelpe, with water and ink artwork from Yannick Pirson.

The EP begins with 'Interruption' - a hiss drenched exercise in juxtaposing a heavy yet minimal delayed drum rhythm with a counter-point of languid synth drones, before abruptly taking a sharp turn into 'Recess', the longest and deepest cut on the EP. Arguably the focal point of Break Synonyms, 'Recess' blends multi layered analog synth arpeggios and harmonies with snippets of home recordings from an audio cassette tape long lost from childhood and reclaimed from the rubbish bin. We then move onto the bright and buoyant 'Suspension', which also makes use of field recordings, hazy beats and synths. A new version of 'Lapse' follows, then, dropping the tempo somewhat, 'Freeze' sounds like a throwback to the red eyed head-nodding melodic hip hop of early Kelpe. The EP closes by re-upping the tempo with the lush and otherworldly extended mix of 'Intermission'.

This collection has had attention lovingly paid to detail, flow and narrative and aims to play through like a mini-LP.


released August 30, 2019

Written and produced by Kel McKeown in London
Mastered by Sam Annand in Scotland
Artwork by Yannick Pirson


all rights reserved



Kelpe London, UK

contact / help

Contact Kelpe

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Kelpe, you may also like: